Wk 2 – Art Activity – Landscapes With A Corpse

Death by Diabetes!

Thinking about the way I would depart this world didn’t really freak me out. I thought about it for a while and decided that diabetes would probably play a part in my death if I don’t change my eating habits. I do not suffer from diabetes, but I do eat a lot of candy and food loaded with sugar. That’s when I decided that my pictures would show me dying suddenly due to my diabetes.Although I am a bit clumsy, I don’t see myself dying from an accident. Instead I see myself dying from my life choices.

The park is where I spent a lot of my childhood playing and snacking on the occasional candy. That is why I decided on making a park the setting of my demise. I went to the park near my house and started looking for a nice place to lay down. I finally decided on a table and had my younger brother set the candy around me. Then, I proceeded to guide him on how to take my pictures.

IMG_20160904_133953

The first shot is very up close and it shows a variety of candy laid all around me. My phone is near my chest because I tried to call 911 for help before passing away. I really liked the fact that you could see some of the candy crumbs around my lips.

IMG_20160904_133745.jpg

The next shot is a little bit zoomed out and you can see that the bigger picture.

IMG_20160904_133912.jpg

The next shot is the last that we took and it shows my body from head to toe. My phone is still there as I was trying to call 911 for help!

Overall, this was a very fun experience! Taking the pictures was a bit challenging since the wind kept moving the skirt of my dress. Also, a small puddle on the table kept on tickling my back which made it hard to keep a serious face. There was a lot of people at the park that kept on staring at me.

Actually creating the pictures wasn’t very hard since I used a large public space and had my younger brother spread the candy around me. I would say the hardest part was keeping a straight face! I wished I had taken a picture that was a little bit more zoomed out, but overall I think my pictures turned out fine.

Leave a Reply

